🤖 AI will help us become better content creators

Hello, beautiful people of the Internet! 👋

Welcome back to another edition of "The 5 Year Plan," soon to be "The Now Plan." SPOILER ALERT!💥 Kidding. Tottally kidding.😜 Or am I? 🧐

🤖 So, AI is taking over the world...

It's been about 3 months since the ChatGPT boom and the AI Wars began. Yesterday, Microsoft announced the integration of GPT-4 with its search engine, Bing, and today Google held an event about what they are doing in terms of AI. Not much, according to a few tweets I’ve read about the event.

But today I’m not here to talk about big tech fighting for a spot in the sandbox. I’m here to share my thoughts on why I think AI will help us make better content and how I am personally using it to create my own pieces of content. You can take my last YouTube video as an example of that. You can check it out right here 👇 Watch, watch it! 👇

Let’s jump right into it.

Why I think AI will help us be better content creators

Here are some of my thoughts on why I feel this way about AI and AI tools, and how they might help us improve our content creation skills:

  • by assisting us in creating more quickly and accurately, brainstorming ideas, identifying trends, and refining existing content.

  • AI-powered tools can help us create more engaging, informative, and entertaining content, as well as provide insights that can help us refine and improve our work.

  • It can be used to automate the editing process by detecting errors, recommending improvements, and providing feedback.

  • help in increasing reach and engagement by leveraging AI-powered analytics and optimizing content for various channels.

  • automate the content distribution and promotion process, allowing us content creators to reach a larger audience, increase engagement, and track the performance of our content.

  • analyze user feedback and provide us with insights on how to improve content for better engagement.

This said, I don’t think AI should replace the human eye. For example, I do use AI tools to help me write, but I always have my wife, a real writer, review everything I create and post on the interweb. I don’t think I’ll be replacing her or another editor anytime soon. Or, maybe I will, I dunno. All I know is that things are moving fast and that you should never say never. *love you, babe. wink wink*

How I’m using AI tools to create

Since discovering ChatGPT back in December, I’ve been exploring its potential to help me out not only with content creation but also with other work-related and personal tasks.

01. Research

I read and watch a lot of stuff online. Sometimes it takes a long time to gather information on certain topics, and if only I had a way to speed that process… Wait a minute. I do! 😎 If it’s a long article, I just copy and paste it into chatGPT and ask it to summarize it for me as bullet points. Voilà! better and easier to read. The same thing goes for YouTube videos. I paste the video transcript into chatGPT and ask the same question. There it goes - I have all the information I need in less time. You should check out Matt Wolfe’s YouTube channel. I’ve been learning a lot about AI tools from that guy. He’s the best! ❤️ 

02. Brainstorming

The cool thing about AI chatbots is that you can bounce ideas off of them. For example, I have an idea for a video I’d like to create about "why people are leaving Instagram." I can have ChatGPT help me come up with a better and more optimized title for that video. I can ask for numerous title ideas and select the best one. You could also end up choosing none because there are so many options. It's the Netflix effect! 😱 Either way, AI is not doing your job. It’s a tool, and it’s helping you out. Don’t panic. It still needs your creative input in order to make things happen. Don’t panic! For now… 😵 Kidding.

03. Writing

I’ve been using ChatGPT, ChatSonic, and NotionAI to help me write everything from video scripts and newsletters to social media posts. As I am not a native English speaker, I have Quillbot review my grammar, so I won’t give you guys reasons to turn me into a meme. 🥴 

The more you use these tools, the better your results will be. Just give it the right prompts. This is something that gets better with time and practice. So, get typing!

😆 I love this GIF. And cats. I also love cats, miau. 🐈️ 

03. Images, thumbnails, logos

The thumbnail for my last YouTube video was designed using Midjourney, and then I gave it the finishing touches with Figma. I also played with DALL-E-2 and just started testing Stable Diffusion, as I have discovered that, unsurprisingly, DALL-E-2 and Midjourney have a maximum number of images you can generate on the free plan. Yeah, it’s not free.

Again, I have to mention Matt Wolfe in terms of education about text-to-image AI tools. Matt has a great video for helping people like me, who can’t do graphic design to save their lives but need to keep the ball rolling, with logo design. Watch it here → https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vq3k6ju3Ax0

And if you need help designing a website, here’s a video for you → https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8I3NTE4cn5s

Disclaimer

No, I don’t think you should have AI create content for you. First, it's only a matter of time before everything online starts to look the same. That’s boring. Secondly, people are not stupid and will spot AI creations from miles away and prefer human-generated content. I’m sorry, it’s the truth. At the end of the day, all we want is human connection. No machine will ever replace that. It might even spike as a trend, but it will fall back. All my respect to all AI machines and workers. If you ever take over the world, remember… I am a F-R-I-E-N-D. 😅 

More and more tools

I’m still trying video editing and slide deck creation tools, but I don’t have enough experience to give you my full and informed opinion. All I can say is that I’ve tried Tome for presentations, and it’s… meh. 🥴

If there’s a tool you think I need to try, let me know. Just reply to this email and let’s chat. No AI involved. Only old-school human interaction. I’m quite a fan of that as well. 🙂 

👋 Want to work together?

When you’re ready, here are 5 ways I can help you:

  1. Social Media and Content Strategy

  2. Personal Branding

  3. Social Media Career Advice

  4. Education (workshops, social media classes)

  5. Speaking Events

📅 I'll be back...

But in the meantime, you can find me on Youtube, Linkedin and Twitter.

Thank you for sticking with me to the end. You’re a brave one! 💪

See you next time!

– Vanessa

P.S. Did someone forward this to you? Subscribe here.

P.P.S. Thanks for reading me. If this newsletter ever becomes a burden, please feel free to unsubscribe. I’ll be okay. 🙂

—————-

This newsletter is edited by Filipa Guedes