• The 5 Year Plan
  • Posts
  • 🎵 Eurovision's Crystal Ball: Social Media's Role in Predicting the 2023 Winner

🎵 Eurovision's Crystal Ball: Social Media's Role in Predicting the 2023 Winner

The Sound of Social: Unraveling Eurovision Winner Clues on Social Platforms

Hello, beautiful people of the Internet! 👋

In this dazzling edition of this newsletter, I’m diving headfirst into the enchanting world of the Eurovision Song Contest, where social media will predict the next unsuspecting victim... ahem, I mean winner.

So, if you’re not a fan of the ESC, please unsubscribe.

I’m kidding, totally!, but please feel free to ignore this issue and see you next week. I understand. 😊

If you're a Eurovision fan or a Social Media Geek like me, keep reading!

🎤 Eurovision's Unexplored Layers Unveiled by Social Media

We are once again on the verge of that annual phenomenon, the Eurovision Song Contest, in which every country sends forth its melodic warrior to do battle on the international stage. Ah, Eurovision, the world's most-watched live non-sporting event, a cacophony of questionable fashion choices and unforgettable musical moments. In 2021, 183 million viewers tuned in, up from 161 million last year, with millions more watching and following via social media platforms.

But wait! With the arrival of the social media age, we now have access to so much more than just the televised spectacle. Behind the glittery curtain, we can see the backstage shenanigans, the artists preparing to ascend to the sacrosanct Eurovision platform, and an entire universe of content other than music.

Picture the scene, fellow fanatics: TikTok dances, vlogs, and candid 'day in the life' snippets; backstage antics, challenges, and covers from other musicians, as well as competing artists and even duets. And let's not forget the masterpieces like interviews, quizzes, and updates from both official and (heaven forbid) unofficial sources, courtesy of the artists themselves, media outlets, and the legions of fans eagerly documenting every twist and turn.

📈 Deciphering Eurovision's Victor Through Analytics

Diving headfirst into the digital abyss, I embarked on a daring quest to harness the power of social media in predicting this year's Eurovision champion. Because, why not? Who needs fortune-tellers when we've got algorithms, right?

So, I meticulously crafted a report for each melodious contender, outlining the metrics that I shall scrutinize with the finesse of a hawk stalking its prey. You're welcome, dear readers.

And to keep you on your toes, I'll be extracting fresh data from the social media jungle every week until the grand finale. Stay tuned for an exhilarating rollercoaster ride through likes, shares, and comments as we uncover the potential winner, one virtual breadcrumb at a time. And remember, in the world of Eurovision predictions, there's no such thing as too much analysis.

🧮 What I’ll be mesuring and what are the next steps

Being the inquisitive soul that I am, while watching the grand finale of Festival da Canção in Portugal, which crowned Mimicat as the nation's representative, a wacky idea struck me like a bolt from the blue: why not gather a treasure trove of Eurovision metrics? As I had been keeping tabs on the festival through social media, it occurred to me that a wealth of data was available for the picking. Here are some atractive metrics I'll be collecting:

  • Views, comments, and likes on YouTube videos.

  • Growth of each competitor's social media accounts on platforms such as Instagram, TikTok, Twitter, and so on.

  • Measure the number of mentions and hashtags for each competitor, song title, and country entering the competition.

Am I missing something? Please let me know by responding to this newsletter. 😃

Every week, I'll fill the numbers into my spreadsheet, and I'll create an Instagram Highlight with weekly updates on this topic. If you want to see me fail miserably at predicting the winner of the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest, follow me on Instagram.

🔨 Usefull Tools

  • Social Blade is where I’ll track social media account growth for each country’s contestant.

  • Mention is where I’ll gather the number of mentions and hashtags related to each artist.

  • Google Sheets or Excel is where I’ll store the collected data.

  • AnyPicker - A.I. is what I’ll use to scrape for numbers on websites like YouTube, Twitter, and TikTok and collect them in a spreadsheet.

👋 Want to work together?

When you’re ready, here are 6 ways I can help you:

  1. Social Media and Content Strategy

  2. Social Media management (Editorial calendar management, content creation, community management)

  3. Personal Branding

  4. Social Media Career Advice

  5. Education (workshops, social media classes)

  6. Speaking Events

📅 I'll be back...

But in the meantime, you can find me on Youtube, Linkedin, Twitter, and Instagram.

Thank you for sticking with me to the end. You’re a brave one! 💪

See you next time!

– Vanessa

P.S. Did someone forward this to you? Subscribe here.

P.P.S. Thanks for reading me. If this newsletter ever becomes a burden, please feel free to unsubscribe. I’ll be okay. 🙂

—————-

This newsletter is edited by Filipa Guedes