• The 5 Year Plan
  • Posts
  • โœจ The Future of Branded Entertainment: Exploring New Horizons

โœจ The Future of Branded Entertainment: Exploring New Horizons

๐ŸŽฌ Beyond Product Placement: Brands as Entertainment Visionaries

Hello, beautiful people of the Internet! ๐Ÿ‘‹

Iโ€™ve been MIA but for a good reason. I was on vacay in Berlin with my mom. She loved it,โ€ฆ

โ€ฆ and so did I!

However, it seems that God, Allah, the Universe, Shiva, Buddha, or someone, must've had bigger plans for me, as I'm now stuck with a bit of a cold. I know it's a first-world problem.

Bless me!

Without further ado, let's jump into it, shall we?

๐Ÿคก April's not for fools!

Why am I bringing this up? Because I saw the Duolingo April Fools' post/campaign in partnership with Peacock, and I thought it was real. It was so freakin' cool! When I found out it was a joke, I was sad. ๐Ÿ˜ญ

Check it out for yourselves:

๐Ÿ’ก A Winning Idea?

This made perfect sense to me. Why can't brands be the promoters and producers of such entertainment? In a world where Reality TV has taken a significant slice of the entertainment category, this idea made a lot of sense in my head. We've all seen or at least heard of shows like Naked and Afraid, Love is Blind, Married at First Sight, The Circle, and even Big Brother, or some kind of adaptation of it, which is still a success worldwide.

๐ŸŽฌ Duolingo's "Love Language": A Streaming Dream? ๐Ÿ’˜

So why not? Why can't this be true? Why can't Duolingo actually produce "Love Language" and have it streamed on platforms like Netflix, HBO, or something similar? I didnโ€™t suggest Peacock because it isn't available where I live, and I would certainly love to watch the show. Guilty!

Imagine the novelty of the content! The memes, live streaming opportunities, partnerships, and collaborations with other brands and influencers. Something like this would expose the brand to different, wider audiences scattered across various touchpoints.

๐Ÿš€ Bold Brand Entertainment: Embrace the Challenge! โœจ

I believe brands should take the plunge, especially those who can. Agencies and creatives out there, this is your chance. If you have one of these seemingly crazy ideas, approach brands and sell, sell, sell!

Let's come up with something bolder than simple product placement. Let's make those brands the actual creators of the entertainment in which their product or products are seamlessly presented.

๐ŸŽฌ Brands as Content Creators

There are truly numerous opportunities here:

  • Ikea could create a home renovation show.

  • Purina might live stream a 24-hour show featuring cats living in a shelter and getting adopted. I love cats! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • And let's not forget this oneโ€”it's 13 years old, and it was a comedy skit from CollegeHumor, but even back then, I wished it would be real. Let's take a look at the trailer:

Can you imagine The Sims becoming an actual scary movie and playing in theaters or streaming on platforms? Can you envision how much social media would explode with this? ๐Ÿคฏ I can already picture all the memes. It's funny how I automatically think of memes when I consider social media. It must mean something. ๐Ÿค”

๐Ÿ‘‹ Want to work together? I have a new Service!

After so many requests, I'm expanding my team, and we are now offering social media management services as well. So, here's another one for the list!

We have just two spots left! That's right, we are closing our client intake for 2023. After that, there will be a waiting list for 2024. So, don't miss the opportunity to achieve great things in social media together. Yay! ๐ŸŒˆ

When you're ready, here are six ways I can help you:

  1. Social Media and Content Strategy

  2. ๐Ÿ†•ย Social Media managementย (Content Creation, Publishing on Social Platforms, Ads Management, Reporting, Community Management)

  3. Social Media Career Advice

  4. Personal Branding

  5. Education (workshops, social media classes)

  6. Speaking Events

๐Ÿ“… I'll be back...

But in the meantime, you can find me on Youtube, Linkedin, Twitter, and Instagram.

Thank you for sticking with me to the end. Youโ€™re a brave one! ๐Ÿ’ช

See you next time!

โ€“ Vanessa

P.S. Did someone forward this to you? Subscribe here.

P.P.S. Thanks for reading me. If this newsletter ever becomes a burden, please feel free to unsubscribe. Iโ€™ll be okay. ๐Ÿ™‚

โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”-

This newsletter is edited by Filipa Guedes